About The Exam

About The Exam

Civil Services exam popularly known as IAS exam, conducted by Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) is the most reputed and toughest exam in the country. The successful candidates’ serve as IAS officers. Every year, lakhs of aspirants appear for the exam for a few hundred vacancies. The final selection of the deserving candidates of IAS gives the country intelligent and responsible candidates. Cracking this exam is not easy but it’s always possible to be successful with a methodological approach towards the exam, hard work, smart and intense preparation, persistence to succeed and with guidance from the right people. It is undoubtedly the hardest exam to crack and UPSC has set the pattern of this exam such a way that at the end of the day only the toughest and strong-willed candidates could come out victorious.

UPSC introduces change in pattern on a regular basis. Thus, it is important to keep track of the continuous changes introduced at regular intervals. We, at Empower IAS have eased the process of understanding of the prestigious exam of Civil services for our students. Below is given the pattern, age limit, required qualification, number of attempts and other important details you should know before the preparation for this reputed exam.

Civil Service Examination is a multi-level examination, it is a process consisting three different level stages-

  1. Preliminary Examination
  2. Mains Examination
  3. Interview or Personality Test

Preliminary Examination (CSAT) :

  1. It consists of two objective type papers (General Studies and Aptitude Test) of 200 marks each.
  2. Duration of the papers is 2 hours each
  3. A minimum 33% marks are required to qualify this exam
  4. Those who qualified the preliminary exam have to appear in the nest level that mains exam

Mains Examination :

  1. It is a subjective test consists of 9 papers in all.
  2. There will be 4 General Studies papers 250 marks each. (3 hours each)
  3. There will be 2 optional subjectsb papers 250 marks each. (3 hours each)
  4. One essay paper will be there also of 250 marks. (3 hours)
  5. 2 language papers (English and Indian Language) of 300 marks each will also be held just for qualifying purpose. The marks of these papers will not be included in the Mains Examination

Interview :

Those who get through the main examination are called for the Interview or personality test. It is of 275 marks with no minimum qualifying marks. This is the final stage of this whole selection process. At this stage, the candidates’ mental alertness, rational thinking, general interests and decision-making abilities etc. are put to test.